2019-20 cycle of Translational Accelerator awardees announced

April 29, 2019

Duke CTSI has announced the winners of its 2018 Translational Accelerator Award RFA. Three projects have been selected for their outstanding potential to translate scientific discoveries into better outcomes in a clinical and population settings.

The awarded projects are eligible for up to $150,000 in funding each, provided by Duke's Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) from the National Institutes of Health. The funding cycle runs for one year, from early 2019 to early 2020. This funding opportunity is one of several offered by Duke CTSI Accelerator, which also provides project management support to research teams.

The awardees for the Translational Accelerator Awards (2019-2020 cycle) are:

Optical Assessment of Retinal Microvascular Ischemia in Cardiopulmonary Bypass
Principal Investigator: Cynthia Toth
Co-Investigators: Quintin Quinones, Sidney Gospe, Joseph Izatt, Christian Viehland, Sandra Stinnett

Sensitization of Pancreatic Cancer to Chemotherapy
Principal Investigator: Pei Zhou
Co-Investigators: Fan Yuan, Jiyong Hong

AAV Mediated Gene Therapy of A Mouse Model of Alternating Hemiplegia of Childhood
Principal Investigator: Mohamad Mikati
Co-Investigators: Boris Kantor, Dwight Koeberl

Applications for the next cycle of Translational Accelerator awards are open until September 5, 2019!