Duke CTSI Faculty Leaders Receive School of Medicine Faculty Awards

April 16, 2021

 Kevin Thomas, Kafui Dzirasa, David Kirsch, Kimberly Johnson
Duke CTSI faculty and 2021 Faculty Award winners (left to right): Dr. Kevin L. Thomas, Dr. Kafui Dzirasa, Dr. David G. Kirsch, and Dr. Kimberly S. Johnson

Four Duke CTSI faculty leaders have been awarded 2021 Faculty Awards from the Duke School of Medicine. These awards are presented to outstanding members of the School of Medicine community.

  • Kevin L. Thomas, MD, received the Excellence in Professionalism Award. This award recognizes the importance of promoting ethical and professional behavior within the Duke community. Recipients exemplify professionalism and personify Duke’s guiding principles of respect, trustworthiness, diversity, teamwork, and learning. Dr. Thomas is a Co-Principal Investigator for the Bridging the Gap to Enhance Clinical Research (BIGGER) Program.
  • Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD, was awarded the Ruth and A. Morris Williams Faculty Research Prize, which recognizes outstanding contributions to basic science research. Dr. Dzirasa joined the CTSI last year as Co-Director of the Workforce Development Core. His research uses neuroscience, bioengineering, and computational approaches to examine the roots of mental illness.
  • David G. Kirsch, MD, PhD, and Kimberly S. Johnson, MD, both received Research Mentoring Awards. These awards recognize faculty members for excellence in research mentoring. Dr. Kirsch received the Career Mentoring Award in Basic – Translational Science, and Dr. Johnson received the Career Mentoring Award in Clinical Science – Population Health. Dr. Kirsch is the Associate Faculty Director of the CTSI's Duke Office of Physician-Scientist Development, and Dr. Johnson is the Associate Director of the Duke CTSA KL2 Program.

Read the full announcement on the Duke School of Medicine website.